To add a face-to-face activity to your course, perform the following activities:
1. Navigate to the course you want to add a certificate to.
2. Click the Turn Editing on button on the right side of the screen
3. Click Add an activity or resource
4. Check Face-to-face radio button, then click Add
- Name: Add name for the activity module added(required).
- Description: Add description for the activity module.
Third-party email address(es) is an optional field used to specify the email address of a third-party (such as an external instructor) who will then receive confirmation messages whenever a user signs-up for a session. When entering multiple email addresses, separate each address with a comma. For example: firstname.lastname@example.org,email@example.com
When Notify third-party about wait-listed sessions is selected the third-party(s) will be notified when a learner signs up for a wait-listed session. When Notify third-party about wait-listed sessions is not enabled third-party(s) will only be notified when a user signs up (or cancels) for a scheduled session.
Session displayed on course page: This is the number of sessions for each face-to-face activity that will be shown on the main course page.
When "Approval required" is checked, a learner will need approval from their manager to be permitted to attend a face-to-face session.
Calendar options: When Site is selected the face-to-face activity sessions will be displayed on the site calendar as a Global Event. All site users will be able to view these sessions. When Course is selected all of the face-to-face activity sessions will be displayed on the course calendar and as Course Event on the site level calendar and visible to all users enrolled in the course. When None is selected, face-to-face activity sessions will only be displayed as User Events on a confirmed attendee's calendar, provided the Show on user's calendar option has been selected.
Show entry on user's calendar: When active this setting adds a User Event entry to the calendar of an attendee of a face-to-face session. When turned off this prevents a duplicate event appearing in a session attendee's calendar, where you have calendar display settings set to Course or Site.
Short name is the description of the session that appears on the training calendar when Show on the calendar is enabled.
When Approval required is enabled, the Request message section is available. The Request message section displays the notices sent to the learner and their manager regarding the approval process for the learner to attend the face-to-face session. Subject: is the subject line that appears on the request approval emails sent to the manager and the learner. Message: is the email text sent to the learner advising them that their request to attend the face-to-face session has been sent to their manager for approval. Notice for manager: is the email text sent to the learner's manager requesting approval to attend the face-to-face session.
Confirmation message: This message is sent out whenever users sign up for a session.
When "Send notice to manager" is checked, a confirmation email will be sent to the learner's manager when the learner signs up for a face-to-face session.
Notice for manager: When "Send notice to manager" is checked, the text in the "Notice for manager" field is sent to a manager advising that a staff member has signed up for a face-to-face session.
Reminder message: This message is sent out a few days before a session's start date.
Wait-listed message: This message is sent out whenever users sign-up for a wait-listed session.
Cancellation message: This message is sent out whenever users cancel their booking for a session.
Common module settings can be applied too. Setting an ID number provides a way of identifying the activity for grade calculation purposes. If the activity is not included in any grade calculation then the ID number field may be left blank. The ID number can also be set in the gradebook, though it can only be edited on the activity settings page.
Group mode: This setting has 3 options: No groups - There are no sub groups, everyone is part of one big community, Separate groups - Each group member can only see their own group, others are invisible, Visible groups - Each group member works in their own group, but can also see other groups. The group mode defined at course level is the default mode for all activities within the course. Each activity that supports groups can also define its own group mode, though if the group mode is forced at course level, the group mode setting for each activity is ignored.
A face-to-face activity will be added to your course.
-Virtual Slate Version 1.0